Average price — Mean sale price across all transactions. Sensitive to the mix of homes that sold.
$839,363
Source: TRREB MarketWatch, January 2020
Greater Toronto Area · TRREB MarketWatch
January 2020
In January 2020 the average selling price across the Greater Toronto Area held steady at $839,363 versus December 2019, and sales rose 4.1% to 4,581, though a quieter January after the December holidays is the seasonal norm.
All TRREB areas · all home types
Average price — Mean sale price across all transactions. Sensitive to the mix of homes that sold.
$839,363
Median price — The midpoint sale price. Less affected by a few very high or low sales than the average.
$735,000
MLS® HPI benchmark — Quality-adjusted price for a typical home. The cleanest like-for-like price signal.
$828,200
Sales — Firm transactions reported through the MLS® System during the month.
4,581
Dollar volume — Total value of all sales in the month.
$3.85B
New listings — Properties newly listed during the month.
7,836
Active listings — Listings available at month end.
7,772
Avg. LDOM — Average days on market for the current listing. Not reported before 2020.
27
Avg. PDOM — Average days on market across the property’s consecutive listings. Not reported before 2020.
37
Avg. SP/LP — Average sale price as a share of list price. Above 100% means competing offers were common.
100%
SNLR — Sales-to-new-listings ratio, computed here from this month’s counts. Below 40% favours buyers, above 60% favours sellers.
58.5%
Months of inventory — Active listings divided by monthly sales — how long the current stock would take to sell. Computed here, not TRREB’s trend figure.
1.7
Generated from the figures above. Ordered by size of month-over-month move.
Indicators published with this edition
Real GDP growth
1.3%
Q3 2019
Toronto employment growth
4.6%
December 2019
Toronto unemployment rate
5.7%
December 2019
Inflation (CPI, year-over-year)
2.2%
December 2019
Bank of Canada overnight rate
1.75%
January 2020
Prime rate
3.95%
January 2020
1-year mortgage rate
3.64%
January 2020
3-year mortgage rate
3.94%
January 2020
5-year mortgage rate
5.19%
January 2020
All TRREB areas
| Home type | Sales | MoM | Average price | MoM | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Detached | 2,074 | +90 +4.5% up 90, 4.5% versus December 2019 | $1,038,247 | −$13,834 −1.3% down $13,834, 1.3% versus December 2019 | +10.3% up 10.3% |
| Semi-detached | 351 | −30 −7.9% down 30, 7.9% versus December 2019 | $792,326 | −$12,818 −1.6% down $12,818, 1.6% versus December 2019 | +6.7% up 6.7% |
| Att/row/townhouse | 418 | +22 +5.6% up 22, 5.6% versus December 2019 | $755,851 | +$19,278 +2.6% up $19,278, 2.6% versus December 2019 | +8.1% up 8.1% |
| Condo townhouse | 364 | +29 +8.7% up 29, 8.7% versus December 2019 | $622,640 | +$25,424 +4.3% up $25,424, 4.3% versus December 2019 | +9.7% up 9.7% |
| Condo apartment | 1,335 | +80 +6.4% up 80, 6.4% versus December 2019 | $630,047 | +$17,583 +2.9% up $17,583, 2.9% versus December 2019 | +14.9% up 14.9% |
| Link | 31 | −3 −8.8% down 3, 8.8% versus December 2019 | $815,719 | +$135,790 +20.0% up $135,790, 20.0% versus December 2019 | +23.9% up 23.9% |
| Co-op apartment | 4 | −2 −33.3% down 2, 33.3% versus December 2019 | $563,750 | −$97,848 −14.8% down $97,848, 14.8% versus December 2019 | +69.8% up 69.8% |
| Detached condo | 3 | no change no change versus December 2019 | $666,667 | −$47,500 −6.7% down $47,500, 6.7% versus December 2019 | +53.8% up 53.8% |
| Co-ownership apartment | 1 | −4 −80.0% down 4, 80.0% versus December 2019 | $450,000 | +$106,580 +31.0% up $106,580, 31.0% versus December 2019 | −4.1% down 4.1% |
13 months to January 2020
| Month | Detached | Semi-detached | Att/row/townhouse | Condo townhouse | Condo apartment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan '19 | 941488 | 742738 | 699154 | 567748 | 548176 |
| Feb '19 | 980914 | 832569 | 684043 | 571273 | 562161 |
| Mar '19 | 984782 | 789462 | 705938 | 571169 | 560020 |
| Apr '19 | 1018147 | 808796 | 712438 | 583148 | 588168 |
| May '19 | 1042218 | 827250 | 718321 | 601636 | 590876 |
| Jun '19 | 1018987 | 830015 | 713540 | 608187 | 590274 |
| Jul '19 | 995043 | 786974 | 711718 | 601541 | 584019 |
| Aug '19 | 978920 | 768230 | 691768 | 578264 | 574632 |
| Sep '19 | 1050421 | 833790 | 726676 | 618241 | 595013 |
| Oct '19 | 1049300 | 852669 | 727074 | 618849 | 617419 |
| Nov '19 | 1044138 | 837573 | 729999 | 594354 | 617658 |
| Dec '19 | 1052081 | 805144 | 736573 | 597216 | 612464 |
| Jan '20 | 1038247 | 792326 | 755851 | 622640 | 630047 |
Ranked across 54 of the 55 required areas · minimum 10 sales to qualify
Top 5
Bottom 5
Top 5
Bottom 5
Areas below the sales threshold are excluded — with a handful of sales, a couple of transactions can invent a swing that is not a market move.
Sales-to-new-listings and months of inventory, computed from this month’s counts
SNLR
58.5%
prior month 124.6%
Months of inventory
1.7
All TRREB areas reads differently on the two balance measures — balanced conditions at 58.5% sales-to-new-listings, but a seller's market at 1.7 months of inventory. They measure different things, so the split is worth noting.
SNLR
60.9%
prior month 123.7%
Months of inventory
1.5
City of Toronto (416) sits in a seller's market: 60.9% of new listings sold and 1.5 months of inventory on hand.
SNLR
57.2%
prior month 125.1%
Months of inventory
1.8
905 total reads differently on the two balance measures — balanced conditions at 57.2% sales-to-new-listings, but a seller's market at 1.8 months of inventory. They measure different things, so the split is worth noting.
These are computed here from the month’s raw counts. TRREB also publishes its own trend-smoothed SNLR and months-of-inventory figures, which are shown separately on the area pages and are not the same measure.
Downtown TorontoMidtownScarboroughYork RegionDurham Region
Downtown
$837,608
Aggregated across 2 districts · View →
Midtown
$1,402,299
Aggregated across 6 districts · View →
Scarborough
$729,589
Aggregated across 8 districts · View →
York Region
$948,799
Region total · View →
Durham Region
$655,781
Region total · View →
Average price for a multi-district group is weighted by dollar volume, not an average of averages — that would give a district with three sales the same weight as one with three hundred.