Average price — Mean sale price across all transactions. Sensitive to the mix of homes that sold.
$1,168,623
Source: TRREB MarketWatch, January 2021
9 areas
January 2021
All home types
Average price — Mean sale price across all transactions. Sensitive to the mix of homes that sold.
$1,168,623
Median price — The midpoint sale price. Less affected by a few very high or low sales than the average.
$1,055,000
MLS® HPI benchmark — Quality-adjusted price for a typical home. The cleanest like-for-like price signal.
$997,000
Sales — Firm transactions reported through the MLS® System during the month.
1,288
Dollar volume — Total value of all sales in the month.
$1.51B
New listings — Properties newly listed during the month.
1,852
Active listings — Listings available at month end.
1,593
Avg. LDOM — Average days on market for the current listing. Not reported before 2020.
26
Avg. PDOM — Average days on market across the property’s consecutive listings. Not reported before 2020.
35
Avg. SP/LP — Average sale price as a share of list price. Above 100% means competing offers were common.
102%
SNLR — Sales-to-new-listings ratio, computed here from this month’s counts. Below 40% favours buyers, above 60% favours sellers.
69.5%
Months of inventory — Active listings divided by monthly sales — how long the current stock would take to sell. Computed here, not TRREB’s trend figure.
1.2
13 months to January 2021
| Month | Average price |
|---|---|
| Jan '20 | 948799 |
| Feb '20 | 1015558 |
| Mar '20 | 1038598 |
| Apr '20 | 968499 |
| May '20 | 1010745 |
| Jun '20 | 1093826 |
| Jul '20 | 1093711 |
| Aug '20 | 1091433 |
| Sep '20 | 1066380 |
| Oct '20 | 1107204 |
| Nov '20 | 1094893 |
| Dec '20 | 1084945 |
| Jan '21 | 1168623 |
| Month | Sales |
|---|---|
| Jan '20 | 747 |
| Feb '20 | 1285 |
| Mar '20 | 1403 |
| Apr '20 | 436 |
| May '20 | 692 |
| Jun '20 | 1354 |
| Jul '20 | 1850 |
| Aug '20 | 1933 |
| Sep '20 | 2038 |
| Oct '20 | 1919 |
| Nov '20 | 1613 |
| Dec '20 | 1366 |
| Jan '21 | 1288 |
| Home type | Sales | MoM | Average | MoM | Median | SNLR | MOI |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All home types | 1,288 | −78 −5.7% down 78, 5.7% versus December 2020 | $1,168,623 | +$83,678 +7.7% up $83,678, 7.7% versus December 2020 | $1,055,000 | 69.5% | 1.2 |
| Detached | 674 | −73 −9.8% down 73, 9.8% versus December 2020 | $1,534,566 | +$185,482 +13.7% up $185,482, 13.7% versus December 2020 | $1,390,000 | 66.3% | 1.4 |
| Semi-detached | 74 | no change no change versus December 2020 | $982,962 | +$76,744 +8.5% up $76,744, 8.5% versus December 2020 | $989,450 | 67.9% | 0.7 |
| Att/row/townhouse | 154 | −31 −16.8% down 31, 16.8% versus December 2020 | $990,346 | +$34,978 +3.7% up $34,978, 3.7% versus December 2020 | $985,000 | 63.9% | 0.8 |
| Condo townhouse | 74 | −9 −10.8% down 9, 10.8% versus December 2020 | $752,560 | +$13,740 +1.9% up $13,740, 1.9% versus December 2020 | $711,000 | 73.3% | 0.8 |
| Condo apartment | 298 | +51 +20.6% up 51, 20.6% versus December 2020 | $584,968 | +$24,297 +4.3% up $24,297, 4.3% versus December 2020 | $550,051 | 81.6% | 1.4 |
| Link | 14 | −16 −53.3% down 16, 53.3% versus December 2020 | $1,116,179 | +$94,256 +9.2% up $94,256, 9.2% versus December 2020 | $1,104,000 | 77.8% | 0.3 |
| Co-op apartment | 0 | no change no change versus December 2020 | $0 | no change no change versus December 2020 | — | 0.0% | — |
| Detached condo | 0 | no change no change versus December 2020 | $0 | no change no change versus December 2020 | — | — | — |
| Co-ownership apartment | 0 | no change no change versus December 2020 | $0 | no change no change versus December 2020 | — | — | — |
| Category | Index | Benchmark | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|
| Composite | 294.9 | $997,000 | +13.3% up 13.3% |
| Single-family detached | 301.7 | $1,148,900 | +15.2% up 15.2% |
| Single-family attached | 302.9 | $875,300 | +14.8% up 14.8% |
| Townhouse | 272.6 | $707,500 | +10.1% up 10.1% |
| Apartment | 254.7 | $568,200 | +5.9% up 5.9% |
Minimum 10 sales to qualify
Top 5
Bottom 5
Top 5
Bottom 5
King focus
King, York Region
$2,067,608
+$396,297 +23.7% up $396,297, 23.7% versus December 2020
Aurora focus
Aurora, York Region
$1,271,103
+$166,405 +15.1% up $166,405, 15.1% versus December 2020
Richmond Hill focus
Richmond Hill, York Region
$1,233,079
+$90,276 +7.9% up $90,276, 7.9% versus December 2020
Whitchurch-Stouffville focus
Whitchurch-Stouffville, York Region
$1,226,509
+$211,024 +20.8% up $211,024, 20.8% versus December 2020
Vaughan focus
Vaughan, York Region
$1,188,330
+$50,395 +4.4% up $50,395, 4.4% versus December 2020
East Gwillimbury focus
East Gwillimbury, York Region
$1,111,381
+$108,717 +10.8% up $108,717, 10.8% versus December 2020
Markham focus
Markham, York Region
$1,079,831
+$15,068 +1.4% up $15,068, 1.4% versus December 2020
Newmarket focus
Newmarket, York Region
$1,011,949
+$61,829 +6.5% up $61,829, 6.5% versus December 2020
Georgina focus
Georgina, York Region
$795,811
+$78,149 +10.9% up $78,149, 10.9% versus December 2020
9 areas
| Area | Sales | MoM | $ volume | Average | MoM | Median | New | Active | SP/LP | LDOM | PDOM | SNLR | MOI |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| King focus King, York Region | 36 | −1 −2.7% down 1, 2.7% versus December 2020 | $74.4M | $2,067,608 | +$396,297 +23.7% up $396,297, 23.7% versus December 2020 | $1,637,500 | 67 | 100 | 95% | 64 | 81 | 53.7% | 2.8 |
| Aurora focus Aurora, York Region | 80 | +6 +8.1% up 6, 8.1% versus December 2020 | $101.7M | $1,271,103 | +$166,405 +15.1% up $166,405, 15.1% versus December 2020 | $1,094,500 | 100 | 83 | 102% | 29 | 38 | 80.0% | 1.0 |
| Richmond Hill focus Richmond Hill, York Region | 270 | −21 −7.2% down 21, 7.2% versus December 2020 | $332.9M | $1,233,079 | +$90,276 +7.9% up $90,276, 7.9% versus December 2020 | $1,130,000 | 363 | 326 | 100% | 31 | 40 | 74.4% | 1.2 |
| Whitchurch-Stouffville focus Whitchurch-Stouffville, York Region | 57 | −7 −10.9% down 7, 10.9% versus December 2020 | $69.9M | $1,226,509 | +$211,024 +20.8% up $211,024, 20.8% versus December 2020 | $1,095,000 | 102 | 107 | 103% | 28 | 35 | 55.9% | 1.9 |
| Vaughan focus Vaughan, York Region | 338 | −14 −4.0% down 14, 4.0% versus December 2020 | $401.7M | $1,188,330 | +$50,395 +4.4% up $50,395, 4.4% versus December 2020 | $1,100,000 | 507 | 454 | 101% | 26 | 35 | 66.7% | 1.3 |
| East Gwillimbury focus East Gwillimbury, York Region | 48 | +9 +23.1% up 9, 23.1% versus December 2020 | $53.3M | $1,111,381 | +$108,717 +10.8% up $108,717, 10.8% versus December 2020 | $1,087,000 | 59 | 41 | 106% | 20 | 21 | 81.4% | 0.8 |
| Markham focus Markham, York Region | 303 | −11 −3.5% down 11, 3.5% versus December 2020 | $327.2M | $1,079,831 | +$15,068 +1.4% up $15,068, 1.4% versus December 2020 | $1,035,000 | 435 | 354 | 105% | 26 | 36 | 69.7% | 1.2 |
| Newmarket focus Newmarket, York Region | 92 | −24 −20.7% down 24, 20.7% versus December 2020 | $93.1M | $1,011,949 | +$61,829 +6.5% up $61,829, 6.5% versus December 2020 | $960,000 | 115 | 56 | 106% | 11 | 14 | 80.0% | 0.6 |
| Georgina focus Georgina, York Region | 64 | −15 −19.0% down 15, 19.0% versus December 2020 | $50.9M | $795,811 | +$78,149 +10.9% up $78,149, 10.9% versus December 2020 | $733,000 | 104 | 72 | 104% | 16 | 20 | 61.5% | 1.1 |